Where Am I Now?

I have had the privilege of knowing I was destined to be a writer from the time I was six and I wrote the short and sweet “Jack on Ghost Hill”. After sixteen years of traversing the hallways of education I left Langara College in 2010 with an Associate of Arts Degree and absolutely no inspiration left to speak of. I decided to take a six-month sabbatical from school, which then turned into a life changing three years.

During the last year of my degree I began working in a kitchen as a dishwasher. A short time later I was promoted to line cook. When I made the choice to embark on my adventure it was with the idea in mind that I would work my way around Australia by cooking. Little did I know that I was going to see much less of the country than I expected. Nor did I realize how much I truly enjoyed the craziness of the kitchen environment. It was always supposed to be a side-job, something to pay my way. For the first time I began considering what it would be like to cook as a full time job.

Exploring the world of surfing in Australia, learning how to rock climb in New Zealand, hiking the fjords of Scandinavia and searching for castle ghosts in the United Kingdom, I jaunted up from a dish-washer to a Sous Chef. In those moments when my hands were creating I discovered another bonus to my new vocation. In between the rush of customers and the chaos of cleaning there are all these wonderful moments of stillness that exist within a kitchen. Tiny fragments of time when my brain was free to drift. All those fragments began to piece together. Today they are the basis for most of my current writing projects.

Leaving home to explore the world was the best decision I ever made. I may have ended up back where I started geographically but my life will never be the same. Writing continues to be my favoured hobby but it is also the most difficult niche to break into. In between bursts of inspiration I have co-founded a catering company called The Kitchen Party Cafe with my best friend Christie. Most recently I have begun selling the fruits of my crafting labours under the name DblZzDesigns. Keep your eye out for blog posts specially related to these and the other aspects of my eclectic lifestyle. Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

